Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to review Good Karma for a while now and I finally got the chance when I had to take a train into the Red Bank station. (Good Karma is super close, like 2 blocks or something).

This place is so tiny, there might be room for 20 people to sit at most. But, don’t let the small size fool you, they turn out some pretty good food.

I was STARVING on my ride in from NYC, so I checked out the menu on the way. The menu is pretty big so it was a good thing I did because I’m the world’s most indecisive person, so I was able to at least pick an app to start with.

I decided on the queso and nacho chips.

20131104-152355.jpg

The queso looked awesome when it came out. It was cheesey dip, sour cream, pico, chives and a pesto-ish type oil. It was super tasty and had a hint of tahini which I loved. A touch more spice would have made this insane. The chips were blue corn and I’m pretty sure they don’t make them there, they were thicker chips and since the dip was very thin, it almost didn’t hold up. A thinner tortilla chip would have been a much better compliment to the queso.

I actually asked for a side of guac with this dish, and though it’s def not necessary, it was super yummy.

For my entree I chose the earth burger which was made of tofu, sunflower seeds and brown rice and comes topped with mayo, raw onion tomato and lettuce on a whole grain bun. There’s an option to make it a “bacon cheeseburger,” by adding their homemade cheese sauce and tempeh bacon. Obviously I did that. And I swapped the plain mayo for some jalapeño aioli because you know I love my spice.

20131104-153612.jpg

This thing was a MONSTER. So huge. And the tempeh strips are enormous too. I had to remove most of the tempeh bacon if I was gonna have a chance at eating this thing. I’d recommend making the tempeh into strips like bacon instead of the current block form, it would just make it easier to eat.

Despite the fact that it was hard to eat and super messy, (I probably killed like half a rainforest worth of napkins tackling this bad boy) – it was freakin delicious. The homemade veggie patty was really moist and flovorful, the sunflower seeds really come through. It came with a gigantic salad on the side that was really fresh, I topped it with their thousand island dressing. I can’t remember the last time I had thousand island but it tasted exactly how I remember it – sweet and tangy. Yum-o.

My mom got the pad Thai which I was super excited about because I obviously planned to hijack most of it.

20131104-154255.jpg

I hate to say this, I really do, but this dish was a huge disappointment. Almost no flavor, it was bland rice noodles and bland sauce. It’s weird because it had all the right components for a good dish – the menu describes it as “wide rice noodles with carrots, cabbage, celery and broccoli in a sweet and tangy tamarind sauce topped with toasted peanuts and sprouts.” Well kids, there was no sweet, there was no tang, just a whole lot of blah. In fact, the most prominent flavor was celery … Yuck. Seriously, this dish needs to be revamped or sent to wherever culinary fails go to die. Probably the same place as Paula Deen’s fried butter disaster–and her career.

After the pad Thai fail, we needed a pick-me-up. You know what I’m talking about…. That’s right, pumpkin cheesecake.

20131104-155356.jpg

This little slice of heaven, and I do mean that literally – I now believe this to be what heaven tastes like – made up for the pad Thai catastrophe. It had a nut crust, a creamy pumpkin filing topped with a cream cheesey layer and fresh cinnamon for the finishing touch. Drop everything and order one for Thanksgiving.

Seriously, don’t let the pad Thai turn you away, it’s the first bad dish I’ve ever had here and I’ve been here numerous times.

To place your Thanksgiving order it just check the place out, click here.

