Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

This week we’re gonna get a little crazy and review a bunch of cupcakes. I know I usually do restaurants, but what fun is a meal without dessert? None!

So my little adorable monster sister’s 16th birthday is coming up and we needed to order a vegan cake for the shindig. Actually, it’s more like a massive, insane, crazy blowout party and I could not be more happy to be planning it. Especially since it meant cake tasting at one of the best vegan bakeries around. (They won Cupcake Wars after all).

Seriously, just looking at the display case makes me want to move to Matawan and be their official cupcake taster.

20131001-175435.jpg

So, little monster’s favorite thing on this planet is s’mores. So we started with the s’more cupcake, obviously.

20131001-180111.jpg

This was a base of chocolate cake topped with a vanilla frosting, chocolate drizzle, graham cracker crumbs and a marshmallow. It was good, but I would have liked a little more of the graham cracker flavor. Also, the marshmallow was a little sweeter than I would have preferred, but the little monster loved it.

Next we tried the mochaccino madness. This was heaven. Chocolate cake, chocolate frosting and a bit of some espresso flavored fudge type miracle. Oh, and there was espresso powder too. I actually can’t even believe I got a pic of this one for you guys.

20131001-180828.jpg

Little monster’s next favorite thing in the world is Oreos. (Did you guys know they’re vegan?) She actually always keeps a box in her room or strategically hidden around the house so that no one can steal one. We clearly had to try Papa Ganache’s cookies and cream cupcake which comes topped with an Oreo.

20131001-181455.jpg

I was only allowed a small bite of this one, and I fought for it. Little monster did not want to share and I’m pretty sure I have a fork shaped scar on my hand from the battle.

Again it had a base chocolate cake but was topped with a vanilla icing with Oreo cookie grounds mixed in. Yum!

Next, we tried one of my favorite combos, chocolate and raspberry. In case you’ve been so unfortunate that you haven’t tasted this combo, or you live under some sort of rock, it’s the world’s best combination of flavors.

20131001-182026.jpg

This was my favorite cupcake of the day. It had chocolate base, raspberry icing, a raspberry Jam-ish type of deliciousness and it was topped with a fresh raspberry which was a great way to finish this wonderful creation.

We even took a box home with us!

20131001-182720.jpg

The one item in that box that I didn’t tell you about yet was their mini pumpkin cheesecake. BEST. THING. EVER. I absolutely love pumpkin anything but pumpkin cheesecake makes me want to wear sweatpants for the rest of my life just so I can eat it every day.

20131001-183045.jpg

Notice how the picture is really blurry? That’s because I was so excited to throw down on this bad boy that I didn’t care how the photo looked.

Overall, the cupcakes were just scrumptious. All of them were moist and fluffy. Just the perfect amount of sweetness and accents. Little monster chose the s’more cake to have at her party, and I don’t blame her!

If you don’t give this place a try, I would seriously question your state of mind. Ok, go!

Website: http://www.papaganache.com

